SMBE17 and Austin Adventures

Last week I travelled to Austin, Texas to attend the Society of Molecular Biology and Evolution Meeting 2017. The meeting had over 1000 attendees from across the world and I had the opportunity to present a talk in the “Epigenetics and Evolution” symposium. Luckily, my talk was in the first session of the first day which meant that I could enjoy the rest of the conference free from worry! It also meant that I had the rest of the week to meet and chat to people who had heard my talk.

The talk went well (I think!) and people seemed to be interested in the weird reproductive strategies of the peculiar little bugs! I may be wrong but I think this is the most attention Paternal Genome Elimination has ever had on Twitter …

Overall, the conference was a great experience with talks and posters on a wide variety of different topics. I have to say though that, in general, the professors could really learn a thing or two about effectively using slides from the grad students! The grad student talks I attended were of such a high calibre and unfamiliar topics were explained clearly and with ease.

I also had some time for exploration of Austin before I headed home, which meant tracking down exciting food places and heading to all the tourist hot spots.

Austin has a very cool, hipster vibe with lots of little bars and amazing food trucks serving everything from traditional Texan BBQ to Asian fusion and Creole cuisine. Of course, I tried them all.

As I write this I am very jet lagged and missing the Austin weather. However, I am inspired by the talks I heard and thankful to the organisers for allowing me to present my work to such a great audience!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

